Legacy Content

Steffanie Leigh Steps into Role of Mary Poppins, Feb 8th

Producers Thomas Schumacher of Disney Theatrical Productions and Cameron Mackintosh are pleased to announce that Steffanie Leigh will star as “Mary Poppins” in the North American tour of MARY POPPINS.  Leigh, who previously understudied the title role in the touring production, replaces Caroline Sheen, who will play her final performance in Omaha at the Orpheum Theatre on Sunday, February 6th.  Leigh officially takes over the role in Omaha on Tuesday, February 8th before the show arrives at the Opera House in Boston on Thursday, February 17th for a limited engagement of five weeks through March 20th.  The opening night is Friday, February 18th at 8pm.  The Boston engagement of MARY POPPINS is presented by arrangement with Broadway Across America - Boston and is a subscription offering of the Lexus Boston Area Dealers Broadway Across America – Boston Series.  Ticketing information may be found at the end of the release.

Leigh, a recent graduate of Carnegie Mellon University, has previously been seen on stage in productions of Jacques Brel is Alive and Well and Living in Paris, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Beauty and the Beast, 42nd St., Into the Woods, Grease, Mame, and Les Miserables.

Leigh will star alongside original Broadway company member, Nicolas Dromard, who plays the affable chimney sweep, “Bert.” Dromard was a member of the original Broadway company of MARY POPPINS and recently played the role of “Fiyero” in the San Francisco production of Wicked.  Originally from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, Dromard has also appeared in the Broadway productions of The Boy From Oz and Oklahoma! and originated roles in the Canadian productions of Mamma Mia! and Hairspray.  Dromard also appeared in stage productions at Stratford Festival of Canada and the Arkansas Repertory Theatre.  

Joining Leigh and Dromard will be Michael Dean Morgan as “George Banks.” Mr. Morgan’s previous stage credits include Disney’s The Lion King, The Mystery of Mrs. Shakespeare and Disney’s Finding Nemo. “Winifred Banks” will be played by Blythe Wilson who joins the production after appearing on stage in The Sound of Music, Mamma Mia!, Oklahoma! and Three Penny Opera. 

Rachel Izen will portray “Mrs. Brill.”  Ms. Izen is making her North American Tour debut having appeared in numerous London West End productions including A Chorus Line, Chicago, Guys and Dolls, Singin’ in the Rain, Beauty and the Beast, Annie and Thoroughly Modern Mille.  Dennis Moench, who will play “Robertson Ay,” was recently seen in the Broadway production of MARY POPPINS and has also appeared in the All Shook Up National Tour and Off-Broadway in Altar Boyz and Fame.

Q. Smith will play “Miss Andrew.” Ms. Smith stage credits include Fame on 42nd Street, Smokey Joe’s Café, Aida, Joseph…Dreamcoat and the Broadway production of Les Miserables. “The Bird Woman” will be played by Janet MacEwen, who has appeared in the Broadway and touring productions of Beauty and the Beast, as well as in productions of Anne of Green Gables, Cats, Les Miserables, Suds!, Pump Boys and Dinettes, Evita, Mamma Mia!, Jacques Brel. “Admiral Boom” will be portrayed by Michael McCarty, a stage veteran whose Broadway credits include MARY POPPINS, To Be Or Not To Be, Oklahoma!, 42nd Street, Sweeney Todd, Big River, Teddy & Alice, Oliver!, Amadeus, King Of Hearts, Dirty Linen.

Performances in the role of “Jane Banks” will be alternated between Camille Mancuso and Paige Simunovich.  Ms. Mancuso’s previous theatre credits include the national tours of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, White Christmas, and Little House on the Prairie.  Ms. Simunovich was last seen on Broadway in Finian’s Rainbow and in the national tours of 101 Dalmatians, Wizard of Oz and Annie.  Performances in the role of “Michael Banks” will be alternated between Talon Ackerman and Cade Canon Ball.  Mr. Ackerman has previously appeared in the stage productions of Disney’s Tarzan, Cats, The Secret Garden, Sleepy Hollow and Our Town.  Mr. Ball has recently appeared on stage in productions of Seussical, A Christmas Carol and Sound of Music.

Rounding out the cast are Jacob ben Widmar, Kiara Bennett, Troy Edward Bowles, Elizabeth Broadhurst, Debra Cardona, Eric Coles, Carol Angeli Dillard, Case Dillard, Elizabeth Earley, Geoffrey Goldberg, Mark Harapiak, Eric Hatch, Garett Hawe, Tiffany Howard, Kelly Jacobs, Sam Kiernan, Stephanie Martignetti, Vanessa McMahan, Koh Mochizuki, Shua Potter, Chuck Rea, Nick Sanchez, Chuck Rea, Jesse Swimm, Jen Taylor, Rachel Wallace and Michelle E. White.     

With four productions currently running on three continents, MARY POPPINS is one of the biggest stage musical successes to emerge from London or New York in recent years.  Worldwide to date, the show has grossed over $470 million and welcomed 6.5 million guests.  The musical is the winner of 25 major theatre awards around the globe, including Tony®, Olivier and Evening Standard awards.

The entire original creative team has reunited to bring this magical story of the world’s most famous nanny to audiences around North America.  The MARY POPPINS North American Tour began performances on March 25, 2009 and has played 21 cities to date.

MARY POPPINS, a co-production of Disney and Cameron Mackintosh, opened on Broadway on November 16, 2006.  Based on P.L. Travers' cherished stories and the classic 1964 Walt Disney film, MARY POPPINS the stage play features the Academy Award®-winning music and lyrics of Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman.  The stage production has been created, in collaboration with Cameron Mackintosh, by Academy Award®-winning screenwriter Julian Fellowes, who has written the book, and the Olivier Award-winning team of George Stiles and Anthony Drewe, who have composed new songs and additional music and lyrics.

Olivier Award-winning director Richard Eyre leads the award-winning creative team, with co-direction and choreography by Tony® and Olivier Award winner Matthew Bourne.  MARY POPPINS features set and costume design by Tony Award winner Bob Crowley, co-choreography by Olivier Award winner Stephen Mear, lighting design by Howard Harrison, orchestrations by William David Brohn, and music supervision by David Caddick.  The tour’s creative team includes Tour Director Anthony Lyn, Associate Choreographer Geoffrey Garrett, and Music Director Daniel Bowling.