50th Daytime Emmys – Winners From The Walt Disney Company

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) tonight announced the winners of the 50th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards. The ceremony was presented live this evening on the CBS Television Network. The ceremony was hosted by Entertainment Tonight hosts Kevin Frazier & Nischelle Turner and featured a special performance by Grammy Award-winning singer and songwriter Jennifer Nettles.

As part of the 50th anniversary celebration, the show honored “legends” of daytime, including 1991 Lead Actor winner Peter Bergman (The Young and the Restless), 1998 Lead Actress winner Cynthia Watros, 2005 Supporting Actor winner Greg Rikaart, and 1980 Supporting Actress winner Francesca James, presenting alongside last year’s respective four acting winners. In addition, tributes were paid to Emmy Award-winning daytime dramas The Young and the Restless for its 50th anniversary on CBS and ABC’s General Hospital for its 60th anniversary.

The Lifetime Achievement Honor was presented to Susan Lucci by Shemar Moore in an awards show reunion for the duo. Moore famously presented Ms. Lucci her Daytime Emmy Award in 1999 after she was nominated in the Best Actress category 19 times for her portrayal of Erica Kane in All My Children. At the time of opening the envelope, he famously exclaimed, “The streak is over!” in what is frequently cited as one of the greatest awards show moments in history.

The Daytime Emmy Awards have recognized outstanding achievement in television programming and crafts since 1974, honoring work in a variety of categories, including daytime dramas, talk shows, instructional programming, hosting, and legal/courtroom programs. In 2021, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) and the Television Academy jointly announced plans to realign the Daytime and Primetime Emmy Awards to be organized by content genre, as opposed to program airtime. In addition, in recognition of the marked increase in content and entries for children’s programming, 2022 was the first annual Children’s & Family Emmy Awards, with relevant categories separating from the Daytime Emmys into their own competition and ceremony.

The ceremony was originally planned for June, but due to the many strikes in Hollywood over the year, was postponed, finally airing tonight, December 15th, 2023, on CBS.

The Walt Disney Company has received 34 nominations across various categories, with 19 alone for ABC’s General Hospital. Take a look at the winners from the ceremony, updated as the night goes on!

Outstanding Supporting Performance Actress

Sonya Eddy – General Hospital

Outstanding Supporting Performance Actor

Robert Gossett – General Hospital

Younger Performer in a Daytime Drama Series

Eden Mccoy, General Hospital

Directing Team for a Daytime Drama Series

General Hospital (ABC)

Outstanding Guest Performance

Alley Mills, General Hospital

Outstanding Daytime Drama Series

General Hospital, ABC

At the Daytime Emmys – Creative Arts, which took place the next afternoon, there were the following winners from the Walt Disney Company:

Outstanding Casting

General Hospital

Outstanding Art Direction/Set Decoration/Scenic Design

The View

Sign up for Disney+ or the Disney Streaming Bundle (Disney+, ESPN+, and ad-supported Hulu) now

Tony Betti
Originally from California where he studied a dying artform (hand-drawn animation), Tony has spent most of his adult life in the theme parks of Orlando. When he’s not writing for LP, he’s usually watching and studying something animated or arguing about “the good ole’ days” at the parks.