ESPN will announce College Football’s All-Time All-America team as the finale of their College Football 150 initiative, celebrating the 150th season of college football.

  • The team will be announced in January 2020, around the College Football Playoff National Championship in New Orleans.
  • The All-Time All-America Team will feature 25 players: 11 on offense, 11 on defense, a kicker, punter, and return specialist.
  • The team will be voted on by a select 150-member panel from across college football, made up of former coaches and players as well as media members, administrators, and additional key figures in and around the sport.
  • The announcement of the team will serve as the finale to ESPN’s year-long College Football 150 storytelling experience, which begins January 2, 2019.
  • The College Football 150 initiative will also include, amongst a plethora of other content, two new series titled The American Game and The Greatestwhich will premiere in September 2019.
  • The American Game will take a definitive look at College Football not just as a sport but also as a cultural phenomenon in America, while The Greatest will provide a series of rankings on a variety of topics.

What they’re saying:

  • ESPN President Jimmy Pitaro: “The unrivaled passion of sports fans led to ESPN’s creation and no sport exemplifies that passion more than college football. The 150th anniversary will be an unparalleled celebration of college football, providing the backdrop for ESPN’s vast platforms to explore the sport’s deep-rooted affiliation with American culture. Emerging from that rich history will be the formation of The All-Time All America Team, representing the single best player at each position on the field.”
  • Kevin Weiberg, Executive Director of the College Football 150th Anniversary: “The All-Time All-America team is a great way to culminate the year-long celebration of the sport. ESPN consulted with us in assembling a broad-based national panel of voters and will keep us informed as the voting process takes place. We look forward to recognizing these extraordinary athletes as part of the Anniversary celebration.”


Send this to a friend