Teaser Trailer for “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker” Released

At long last, Star Wars fans will no longer have to refer to the upcoming installment of the saga simply as “Star Wars Episode IX.” Today, at Star Wars Celebration Chicago, it was announced that the official title for the film is — Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker.

  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker will be directed by JJ Abrams, who previously helmed Episode VII, The Force Awakens.
  • The film will feature several new and returning cast members, including:
    • Daisy Ridley
    • Adam Driver
    • John Boyega
    • Oscar Isaac
    • Lupita Nyong’o
    • Domhnall Gleeson
    • Kelly Marie Tran
    • Joonas Suotamo
    • Billie Lourd
    • Mark Hamill
    • Anthony Daniels
    • Billy Dee Williams
    • Carrie Fisher
    • Naomi Ackie
    • Richard E. Grant
    • Keri Russell
    • Matt Smith
    • Dominic Monaghan
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker will hit theatres everywhere December 20th.
  • Check out the new teaser trailer:

  • Star Wars also released a new poster for the film:


  • Today’s panel was liveblogged by us here at LP— catch what you missed here.
  • On February 15, JJ Abrams shared via twitter that principal photography for the film was complete. He posted a photo of Ridley, Boyega, and Isaac along with the announcement.

Star Wars Celebration coverage is presented by Acme Archives