Milana Vayntrub Discusses Voicing Squirrel Girl for Upcoming “Marvel Rising: Initiation”

Marvel fans get ready, Marvel Rising is heading your way! A series of new animated content will roll out next week on Disney XD when several shorts premiere as part of Marvel Rising: Initiation. The show will feature several lesser known heroes including Squirrel Girl. Voice actress Milana Vayntrub sat down with Marvel to discuss bringing Squirrel Girl to life.

 Marvel Rising:

  • This brand-new, multi-platform animated franchise will focus on inclusivity, empowerment, and relatability for a tween audience. The content rollout will begin with 6 animated shorts called Marvel Rising: Initiation premiering on August 13 on Disney XD.
  • Later this fall, an 80-minute animated film called Marvel Rising: Secret Warriors will premiere on Disney Channel.
  • Audiences will follow a young, new group of predominantly female Super Heroes as they come into their own and eventually form a super powered team.
  • All 6 shorts will premiere back-to-back on Disney XD on Monday, August 13th at 7:30 pm ET/PT.

Marvel Rising: Initiation

The series of (6) 3-4 minute animated shorts will kick-off the animated project.

  • “Teenage superhero Gwen Stacy, AKA Ghost-Spider, is used to spending her time fighting for justice and playing drums in her band. But when she finds herself accused of being on the wrong side of the law — chased by her police captain father, as well as a host of young heroes including Ms. Marvel, Squirrel Girl, Quake and Patriot — Ghost-Spider must go on the run to prove her innocence.”
  • The talented voice cast includes:
    • Dove Cameron as Ghost-Spider
    • Chloe Bennet as Quake
    • Kamil McFadden as Patriot
    • Milana Vayntrub as Squirrel Girl
    • Kathreen Khavari as Ms. Marvel
    • Dee Bradley Baker as Tippy Toe
    • Skai Jackson as Gloria Grant
    • Steven Weber as Captain George Stacy

Marvel Rising: Initiation

Marvel Rising: Secret Warriors:

 This upcoming animated film will premiere simultaneously on Disney Channel and Disney XD on Sunday, September 30.

  • Powered teens Ms. Marvel, Squirrel Girl, Quake, Patriot, America Chavez, and Inferno join forces as an unlikely, but formidable crew of aspiring heroes. When a threat no one could have expected bears down on the Marvel Universe, this ragtag, untrained band of teens have no choice but to rise together and prove to the world that sometimes the difference between a “hero” and “misfit” is just in the name.”
  • The voice cast for the feature length film includes:
    • Chloe Bennet as Quake
    • Milana Vayntrub as Squirrel Girl
    • Kathreen Khavari as Ms. Marvel
    • Kamil McFadden as Patriot
    • Tyler Posey as Inferno
    • BooBoo Stewart as Exile
    • Cierra Ramirez as America Chavez
    • Kim Raver as Captain Marvel
    • Ming-Na Wen as Hala
    • Dee Bradley Baker as Tippy Toe & Lockjaw

What they’re saying:

  • Marvel Entertainment: “We’re excited to introduce to new and old Marvel fans alike to Marvel Rising —the next generation of Marvel heroes for the next generation of Marvel fans!