Following a tumultuous (to say the least) hiatus, the former cast of Roseanne are regathering this week to begin production on The Conners.

  • This morning, ABC shared a new image from the set of The Conners, featuring the cast for a table read.
  • Notably, the photo also confirmed that Jayden Rey, Ames McNamara, and Emma Kenney — who joined Roseanne for its 10th season last year — would be returning for the spin-off.
  • Previously, it was unclear if the trio of young actors would be joining their adult counterparts for the project.
  • The new image comes just days after John Goodman seemingly confirmed that the character of Roseanne Conner will be killed off on the show, leaving Dan a widower.
  • Other returning cast members include Sara Gilbert, Laurie Metcalf, Lecy Goranson, and Michael Fishman.

Catch up quick — The Roseanne Chronicles

  • Last year, Roseanne returned to ABC for a 10th season and debuted to sky-high ratings. Naturally, the show was then picked up for a second (or 11th) season.
  • Things changed quickly after Roseanne star, creator, and namesake Roseanne Barr tweeted a racist comment about former Obama advisor Valerie Jarrett.
  • Within hours of Barr’s tweet, ABC announced it was canceling her show.
  • However, after reaching a deal with Barr that saw the comedienne waiving any rights or profits from a spin-off show, ABC greenlit The Conners starring with the remaining cast.
  • When The Conners was first announced, the cast released a statement, saying. “We have received a tremendous amount of support from fans of our show, and it’s clear that these characters not only have a place in our hearts, but in the hearts and homes of our audience. We all came back last season because we wanted to tell stories about the challenges facing a working-class family today. We are so happy to have the opportunity to return with the cast and crew to continue to share those stories through love and laughter.”
  • The “new” show is set to debut this fall in the timeslot that would have been occupied by its predecessor.