Oscar Nominations for 94th Academy Awards Released

Early this morning, we woke up to Tracee Ellis Ross and Leslie Jordan talking about the Academy Awards, and shared the official nominations for the 94th Oscars ceremony, set to take place on March 27th.

This year’s theme for the ceremony is “Movie Lovers Unite,” and celebrates not only the previous year in film, but over the length of time the Academy has been in place. The complete list of this year’s nominees is below, with nominations from the Walt Disney Company represented in bold.

Actress in a Supporting Role:

Jessie Buckley – The Last Daughter

Ariana Debose – West Side Story

Judi Dench – Belfast

Kirsten Dunst – The Power of the Dog

Aunjanue Ellis – King Richard

Costume Design

Cruella – Jenny Beavan

Cyrano – Massimo Cantini Parrini and Jacqueline Durran

Dune – Jacqueline West and Robert Morgan

Nightmare Alley – Luis Sequeira

West Side Story – Paul Tazewell


Belfast – Denise Yarde, Simon Chase, James Mather and Niv Adiri

Dune – Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill and Ron Bartlett

No Time to Die – Simon Hayes, Oliver Tarney, James Harrison, Paul Massey and Mark Taylor

The Power of the Dog –Richard Flynn, Robert Mackenzie and Tara Webb

West Side Story – Tod A. Maitland, Gary Rydstrom, Brian Chumney, Andy Nelson and Shawn Murphy

Original Score

Don’t Look Up – Nicholas Britell

Dune – Hans Zimmer

Encanto – Germaine Franco

Parallel Mother – Alberto Iglesias

The Power of the Dog – Jonny Greenwood

Adapted Screenplay

CODA –  Screenplay by Siân Heder

Drive My Car – Screenplay by Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Takamasa Oe

Dune – Screenplay by Jon Spaihts and Denis Villeneuve and Eric Roth

The Lost Daughter – Written by Maggie Gyllenhaal

The Power of the Dog –  Written by Jane Campion

Original Screenplay

Belfast – Written by Kenneth Branagh

Don’t Look Up – Screenplay by Adam McKay; Story by Adam McKay & David Sirota

King Richard – Written by Zach Baylin

Licorice Pizza – Written by Paul Thomas Anderson

The Worst Person in the World –  Written by Eskil Vogt, Joachim Trier

Animated Short Film

Affairs of the Art



Robin Robin

The Windshield Wiper

Live Action Short Film

Ala Kachuu-Take And Run

The Dress

The Long Goodbye

On My Mind

Please Hold

Actor in a Supporting Role:

Ciaran Hinds – Belfast

Troy Kotsur – CODA

Jesse Plemons – The Power of the Dog

J.K. SImmons – Being the Ricardos

Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog

Film Editing

Don’t Look Up – Hank Corwin

Dune – Joe Walker

King Richard – Pamela Martin 

The Power of the Dog – Peter Sciberras

Tick, Tick….Boom! – Myron Kerstein and Andrew Weisblum


Coming 2 America – Mike Marino, Stacey Morris and Carla Farmer

Cruella – Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne and Julia Vernon

Dune – Donald Mowat, Love Larson, and Eva von Bahn

The Eyes of Tammy Faye Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram and Justin Raleigh

House of Gucci – Göran Lundström, Anna Carin Lock and Frederic Aspiras

Animated Feature

Encanto – Jared Bush, Byron Howard, Yvett Merino and Clark Spencer

Flee – Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen and Charlotte De La Gournerie

Luca – Enrico Casarosa and Andrea Warren

The Mitchells Vs. The Machines – Mike Rianda, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller and Kurt Albrecht

Raya and the Last Dragon – Don Hall, Carlos López Estrada, Osnat Shurer and Peter Del Vecho

Original Song

"Be Alive" from King Richard, Music and Lyric by DIXSON and Beyoncé Knowles-Carter

"Dos Oruguitas" from Encanto, Music and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda

"Down To Joy" from Belfast, Music and Lyric by Van Morrison

"No Time To Die" from No Time to Die, Music and Lyric by Billie Eilish and Finneas O'Connell

"Somehow You Do" from Four Good Days, Music and Lyric by Diane Warren

Documentary Short Subject

Audible – Matt Ogens and Geoff McLean

Lead Me Home – Pedro Kos and Jon Shenk

The Queen of Basketbal – Ben Proudfoot

Three Songs for Benazir – Elizabeth Mirzaei and Gulistan Mirzaei

When We Were Bullies – Jay Rosenblatt

Documentary Feature

Ascension – Jessica Kingdon, Kira Simon-Kennedy and Nathan Truesdell

Attica – Stanley Nelson and Traci A. Curry

Flee – Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen and Charlotte De La Gournerie

Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Ahmir "Questlove" Thompson, Joseph Patel, Robert Fyvolent and David Dinerstein

Writing With Fire – Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh

Visual Effects

Dune – Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor and Gerd Nefzer

Free Guy – Swen Gillberg, Bryan Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis and Dan Sudick

No Time to Die – Charlie Noble, Joel Green, Jonathan Fawkner and Chris Corbould

Shang Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings – Christopher Townsend, Joe Farrell, Sean Noel Walker and Dan Oliver

Spider-Man: No Way Home – Kelly Port, Chris Waegner, Scott Edelstein and Dan Sudick


Dune – Greig Fraser

Nightmare Alley – Dan Laustsen

The Power of the Dog – Ari Wegner

The Tragedy of Macbeth – Bruno Delbonnel

West Side Story – Janusz Kaminski

Production Design

Dune – Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Zsuzsanna Sipos

Nightmare Alley – Tamara Deverell; Set Decoration: Shane Vieau

The Power of the Dog – Grant Major; Set Decoration: Amber Richards

The Tragedy of Macbeth – Stefan Dechant; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh

West Side Story – Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Rena DeAngelo

International Feature Film

Drive My Car


The Hand of God

Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom

The Worst Person in the World

Actor in a Leading Role

Javier Bardem – Being the Ricardos

Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of the Dog

Andrew Garfield – tick, tick… BOOM!

Will Smith – King Richard

Denzel Washington – The Tragedy of Macbeth

Actress in a Leading Role

Jessica Chastain – The Eyes of Tammy Faye

Olivia Colman – The Last Daughter

Penelope Cruz – Parallel Mothers

Nicole Kidman – Being the Ricardos

Kristen Stewart – Spencer


Kenneth Branagh – Belfast

Ryusuke Hamaguchi – Drive My Car

Paul Thomas Anderson – Licorice Pizza

John Campion – The Power of the Dog

Steven Spielberg – West Side Story

Best Picture

Belfast Laura Berwick, Kenneth Branagh, Becca Kovacik and Tamar Thomas, Producers

CODA – Philippe Rousselet, Fabrice Gianfermi and Patrick Wachsberger, Producers

Don’t Look Up – Adam McKay and Kevin Messick, Producers

Drive My Car – Teruhisa Yamamoto, Producer

Dune – Mary Parent, Denis Villeneuve and Cale Boyter, Producers

King Richard – Tim White, Trevor White and Will Smith, Producers

Licorice Pizza – Sara Murphy, Adam Somner and Paul Thomas Anderson, Producers

Nightmare Alley – Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale and Bradley Cooper, Producers

The Power of the Dog – Jane Campion, Tanya Seghatchian, Emile Sherman, Iain Canning and Roger Frappier, Producers

West Side Story – Steven Spielberg and Kristie Macosko Krieger, Producers

You can see if your favorites and top picks win when the 94th Academy Awards take place on ABC on March 27th.