FX Announces Full Cast for Upcoming Limited Series “Shōgun”

FX has revealed the main cast of their upcoming limited series Shōgun based on the novel by James Clavell.

Photos: Akina Chan/Pip

Photos: Akina Chan/Pip

What’s Happening:

  • FX has announced that Anna Sawai has joined the lead cast of Shōgun as “Lady Mariko.” She’ll star opposite Hiroyuki Sanada and Cosmo Jarvis.
  • The 10-episode limited series was first announced last December during Disney’s Investor Day. Shōgun is a period drama based on the novel by James Clavell.
  • The series is currently in production in Vancouver with Jonathan van Tulleken directing the first two episodes.  


  • Shōgun, set in feudal Japan, charts the collision of two ambitious men from different worlds and a mysterious female samurai. John Blackthorne, a risk-taking English pilot major ends up shipwrecked in Japan, a land whose unfamiliar culture will ultimately redefine him. Lord Toranaga, a shrewd, powerful daimyo, is at odds with his own dangerous, political rivals. And Lady Mariko, a woman with invaluable skills but dishonorable family ties, must prove her value and allegiance.”

Lead Cast:

Photo: Akina Chan

Photo: Akina Chan

  • Anna Sawai (F9: The Final Saga, Giri/Haji) is set to star as “Lady Mariko,” revered daughter of an infamous samurai traitor, whom Toranaga enlists to avenge her father’s death.  

  • Hiroyuki Sanada (Bullet Train, John Wick 4, Mortal Kombat, Army of the Dead) will star as “Yoshii Toranaga,” a living legend. A powerful daimyo from a feared lineage, isolated and outnumbered by his enemies in Osaka Castle when the story begins.
Photo: Pip

Photo: Pip

  • Cosmo Jarvis (Calm with Horses, Raised by Wolves, Persuasion) will star as “John Blackthorne,” a restless English pilot major in search of a destiny far from the world he was born into.

Additional Cast Members:

  • Along with Sawai, Sanada, and Jarvis Shōgun features:

  • Tadanobu Asano – “Kashigi Yabushige”
  • Fumi Nikaido – “Ochiba No Kata”
  • Tokuma Nishioka – “Toda Hiromatsu”
Photo credits: Nobuyoshi Araki, Laura Rose, Madoka Sano

Photo credits: Nobuyoshi Araki, Laura Rose, Madoka Sano

  • Takehiro Hira – “Ishido Kazunari”
  • Ako – “Daiyoin ‘Lady Iyo’”
  • Shinnosuke Abe – “Toda Hiroshige ‘Buntaro’”
Photo: Nikki Takei (Toshi Toda)

Photo: Nikki Takei (Toshi Toda)

  • Yasunari Takeshima – “Muraji”
  • Hiroto Kanai – “Kashigi Omi”
  • Toshi Toda – “Sugiyama”
Photo: Farah Nosh (Hiro Kanagawa)

Photo: Farah Nosh (Hiro Kanagawa)

  • Hiro Kanagawa – “Igarashi”
  • Nestor Carbonell – “Rodrigues”
  • Yuki Kura – “Yoshii Nagakado”
Photo: Joseph Sinclair (Tommy Bastow)

Photo: Joseph Sinclair (Tommy Bastow)

  • Tommy Bastow – “Father Martin Alvito”
  • Moeka Hoshi – “Usami Fuji”
  • Yuka Kouri – “Kiku”
  • Yoriko Doguchi – “Kiri no Kata”

Creative Team:

  • Shōgun is Executive Produced by Justin Marks, Michaela Clavell, Michael de Luca and Ed McDonnell.
  • Marks co-wrote the first two episodes with Co-Executive Producer Rachel Kondo.
  • Shannon Goss, Andrew Macdonald and Allon Reich are Co-Executive Producers and Jonathan van Tulleken will serve as Co-Executive Producer on the first two episodes.
  • Hiroyuki Sanada serves as a Producer.