AMPAS Welcomes Six New Members to Science and Technology Council

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has added six new members to their Science and Technology Council.

  • The six new additions include:
    • David Ayer
    • Rod Bogart
    • Theo Gluck
    • Leslie Iwerks
    • Colette Mullenhoff
    • Jeff Taylor

About the new members:

Ayer is a director, producer and screenwriter whose credits include The Fast and the Furious, and is the co-founder of Cedar Park Entertainment.

Bogart is an imaging science technologist who has worked for Industrial Light & Magic, Pixar and HBO. As the lead color scientist at Pixar, he pioneered file-based workflows with Pixar’s image mastering team and contributed to the design of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers Interoperable Master Format (SMPTE IMF).

Gluck is the director of library restoration and preservation at Walt Disney Studios. Since 2004, he has guided the studio’s restoration program and coordinated the digitization and preservation of a significant portion of the nitrate negatives on the studio’s classic animated features and shorts.

Iwerks is a director-producer and has earned an Oscar nomination for the documentary short “Recycled Life” and an Emmy nomination for The Pixar Story. Her credits include Industrial Light & Magic: Creating the ImpossibleThe Hand behind the Mouse – The Ub Iwerks Story, and such environmental and social issue documentaries as Pipe Dreams and Downstream.

Mullenhoff works as a research and development engineer at Industrial Light & Magic. She has been recognized her contributions to the ILM Shape Sculpting System. Her software has been used in the production of numerous films, including Ready Player One, Transformers: Dark of the Moon and Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End.

Taylor is chief engineer of post production at Universal Studios. He has designed numerous multi-audio-format re-recording stages including Atmos, DTS-X, IMAX. He has also worked for The Droid Works, a division of Lucasfilm Ltd.; consulted on the digital technology transformation of the animation department at Walt Disney Pictures Animation Group; and was an early pioneer of the SDDS system at Sony Pictures.

The Science and Technology Council provides a forum for the exchange of information, promotes cooperation among diverse technological interests within the industry, sponsors publications, fosters educational activities, and preserves the history of the science and technology of motion pictures.