Ron Clements and John Musker, the Oscar-nominated Walt Disney Animation Studios filmmaking partners behind such animated features as Moana and The Princess and The Frog, will receive the William Cameron Menzies Award from the Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) at the 22nd Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards on Jan. 27 in the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland. The award recognizes their innovative artistic work on numerous legendary Disney animated movies. Today’s announcement was made by ADG Council Chair Marcia Hinds ADG and Awards Producers Thomas Walsh ADG and Thomas Wilkins ADG.

“Both Clements and Musker’s love of animation have brought us legendary worlds of imagination,” said ADG President Nelson Coates. “The ADG is thrilled to honor their efforts, talents and achievements as they continue to blaze creative trails in animation and to be leaders in Disney’s artistic evolution over the decades. They are masters of their craft and part of the technical innovations in the art form.”

The ADG’s spotlight of the duo’s animation achievements is particularly significant this year. The guild will debut its new award category “Excellence in Production Design for an Animated Feature Film” in recognition of the growing importance of animated features.

Clements and Musker have worked together as directors on a number of Walt Disney Animation Studios features and were nominated for two Academy Awards® for the Best Animated Feature Film of the Year for Moana (2017) and The Princess and the Frog (2010). They have received numerous awards and nominations from other organizations for these and their additional celebrated classics including Hercules (1997), Aladdin (1992), The Little Mermaid (1989) and The Great Mouse Detective (1986). Both men began their Disney careers in the 70’s as assistant animators on shorts – Clements with Winnie the Pooh and Tigger Too (1974) and Musker with The Small One (1978).

As previously announced, Kathleen Kennedy, the Oscar-nominated producer and President of Lucasfilm, will be honored with the 2018 “Cinematic Imagery Award.”  Tyrus Wong, award-winning Illustrator of Bambi fame, will be inducted into ADG’s Hall of Fame.