Attention Frozen fans! The return journey to Arendelle is getting closer and just this morning, Disney decided to give fans another look at the upcoming movie Frozen 2. Along with sharing a sneak peek at the new song “Into the Unknown,” Disney announced a release date for the film’s soundtrack.  

(Please note this article contains affiliate links. Your purchase will support LaughingPlace by providing us a small commission, but will not affect your pricing or user experience. Thank you.)

What’s happening:

  • Earlier this morning, Disney shared a special look at Frozen 2 featuring the all new song, “Into the Unknown.”

  • Disney also announced details about the upcoming soundtrack from Walt Disney Records.
  • Releasing just ahead of the feature film, the stunning soundtrack will include:
    • Original songs from Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
    • Original score by Christophe Beck
    • End-credit artists Panic! At The Disco, Kacey Musgraves and Weezer
  • The soundtrack is set for release on November 15, 2019, and is now available for:
  • In addition to the digital streaming, fans will also be able to purchase:
    • Frozen 2 vinyl cast songs soundtrack
    • Frozen 2 score album
    • Frozen 2 digital deluxe soundtrack
  • Digital and physical releases of the soundtrack will be available on November 15.

What they’re saying:

  • Director Chris Buck: “The music of the Lopezes and Christophe Beck are part of the DNA of Frozen. We couldn't imagine building Frozen 2 without them. They bring such a rich, emotional understanding of the world and characters, and through their incredible music we have been able to really deepen and expand the story.”
  • Director Jennifer Lee: “The songs and score of Frozen 2 reflect the growth of the characters and the deepening of their story. The music is fun but emotional, personal yet powerful, intimate but also epic. Kristen, Bobby and Christophe have definitely outdone themselves and taken the music to brave new heights.”
  • Kristen Anderson-Lopez: “From the beginning of our collaboration with Jennifer Lee, Chris Buck and Peter Del Vecho, everything we’ve created has come from big questions—what is the story that we all as artists, individually and collectively, need to tell? Bobby and I approach the story through the lens of which moments of our story lead to big emotions—feelings so strong our characters can no longer talk but need to sing.”
  • Bobby Lopez: “Our tradition of songwriting comes from the world of musical theater, where songs must always forward the story in a fresh and surprising way. Every song has to take a character on a journey.”

Frozen 2 soundtrack song list:

  • The digital and physical track list is listed below. The vinyl soundtrack includes the first eight cast songs.
    • 1. “All is Found” – performed by Evan Rachel Wood
    • 2. “Some Things Never Change” – performed by Kristen Bell, Idina Menzel, Josh Gad and Jonathan Groff
    • 3. “Into the Unknown” – performed by Idina Menzel (featuring Norwegian singer AURORA)
    • 4. “When I Am Older” – performed by Josh Gad
    • 5. “Reindeer(s) are Better than People (Cont.)” – performed by Jonathan Groff
    • 6. “Lost in the Woods” – performed by Jonathan Groff
    • 7. “Show Yourself” – performed by Idina Menzel and Evan Rachel Wood
    • 8. “The Next Right Thing” – performed by Kristen Bell
    • 9. “Into the Unknown” – performed by Panic! At The Disco (end credits)
    • 10. “All is Found” – performed by Kacey Musgraves (end credits)
    • 11. “Lost in the Woods” – performed by Weezer (end credits)

 The music: 

  • Panic! At The Disco, Kacey Musgraves & Weezer have been tapped for the film’s end credits.
  • According to executive music producer Tom MacDougall, the Frozen 2 soundtrack features a wide range of songs and an eclectic mix of artists performing the end credit versions.
  • Christophe Beck who wrote the score for Frozen, returns to Arendelle for Frozen 2. He ensured a cohesive musical thread throughout the film, weaving elements from the original songs into the score.
  • Beck once again utilized traditional Norwegian instruments to showcase the unique setting of the film—“magical, but rooted in real tradition”—as well as the Norwegian female choir Cantus, who were recorded in Norway.
  • According to the composer, the new score reflects the evolution of the characters.

What they’re saying:

  • Executive music producer Tom MacDougall: “While we can’t wait for the world to hear these songs, we feel like we got a sneak peek of how people will react with how quickly our end credits artists signed on. Their excitement for this franchise and these songs is represented in their wildly creative takes on each of their versions.”
  • Composer Christophe Beck: “Similar to how Elsa and Anna have grown up since the last film, the new score has also matured and introduces more sophisticated musical concepts and thematic elements. The story's emotional arc is more complex and intense than the first so I wanted the score's thematic concepts and instrumentation to follow suit. I enjoyed exploring extreme dynamic contrasts, harmonic complexity, intricate textures with vibrant colors, and hugely expressive melodic moments.”

Frozen 2 arrives in theaters on November 22, 2019.