ABC and The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced that the 94th Oscars ceremony will move to Sunday, March 27, 2022.


What’s Happening:

  • Originally scheduled for February 27, 2022, the 94th Oscars have moved to Sunday, March 27, 2022, on ABC.
  • The ceremony will air live from the Dolby Theatre and Highland Center in Hollywood.
  • A feature film must have a qualifying release date between March 1, 2021, and December 31, 2021, to be eligible and requirements will be consistent with the changes made for the 93rd Awards. Full rules and category submission deadlines will be announced in June.
  • The Academy also announced that the qualifying requirements will be expanded for the 95th Awards.

Academy key dates for the 2021 Oscar season (subject to change):

  • General entry categories submission deadline – Monday, November 15, 2021
  • Preliminary voting begins 9:00 am PT – Friday, December 10, 2021
  • Preliminary voting ends 5:00 pm PT – Wednesday, December 15, 2021
  • Oscar Shortlists Announcement – Tuesday, December 21, 2021
  • Eligibility period ends – Friday, December 31, 2021
  • Governors Awards – Saturday, January 15, 2022
  • Nominations voting begins 9:00 am PT – Thursday, January 27, 2022
  • Nominations voting ends 5:00 pm PT  – Tuesday, February 1, 2022
  • Oscar Nominations Announcement  – Tuesday, February 8, 2022
  • Oscar Nominees Luncheon – Monday, March 7, 2022
  • Finals voting begins 9:00 am PT – Thursday, March 17, 2022
  • Finals voting ends 5:00 pm PT – Tuesday, March 22, 2022
  • 94th Oscars – Sunday, March 27, 2022
Sign up for Disney+ or the Disney Streaming Bundle (Disney+, ESPN+, and ad-supported Hulu) now