ABC’s popular drama series, Big Sky will be moving its production from Vancouver to New Mexico for all of season two.

Via ABC/Darko Sikman

Via ABC/Darko Sikman

What’s Happening:

  • The Hollywood Reporter is writing that ABC’s drama series Big Sky is moving its production to New Mexico.
  • Production on the first season took place in Vancouver, British Columbia. Now, the show plans to be in Rio Rancho, New Mexico from August 2021 through April 2022.
  • The New Mexico Film Office announced the news earlier today, happy to welcome the show which is helmed by Elwood Reid.
  • According to the Film Office, Big Sky will employ over 500 crew members residing in the state and thousands of locals as background actors and extras.

What They’re Saying:

  • New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham: “The decision of Big Sky to film season 2 in New Mexico shows we have created a resilient and thriving film industry. This production will support jobs for thousands of New Mexicans well into 2022 and boost spending to the many local businesses that provide goods and services to this industry.”
  • Showrunner Elwood Reid: “For years I’ve had friends rave to me about their experience filming in New Mexico. I’m excited to bring the second season of Big Sky to the Land of Enchantment. The excellent crews, the facilities and natural beauty of New Mexico has so far exceeded expectations. We are looking forward to a great year!”

About Big Sky:

  • Created for television by David E. Kelley, Big Sky is based on the novels by C.J. Box.
  • In season one, “private detectives Cassie Dewell and Cody Hoyt join forces with his estranged wife and ex-cop, Jenny Hoyt, to search for two sisters who have been kidnapped by a truck driver on a remote highway in Montana. But when they discover that these are not the only girls who have disappeared in the area, they must race against the clock to stop the killer before another woman is taken.”  


  • Season two stars:
    • Katheryn Winnick
    • Kylie Bunbury
    • Brian Geraghty
    • Dedee Pfeiffer
    • Omar Metally
    • Anja Savcic