MENUMENU

Join us August 12th-13th from the comfort of your living room!

All of us at Laughing Place were sad to hear that The Great Movie Ride will close its doors forever on August 13th. While our Walt Disney World correspondent will be on site to document the attraction’s final hours, the announcement came so fast that most of us will not get the chance to give this “Spectacular journey into the movies” the proper send off it deserves. To celebrate this iconic attraction, the concept for which launched an entire theme park, we are hosting an in-home movie marathon during the attraction’s final weekend, August 12th-13th.

We will be live-tweeting our thoughts, reactions, and trivia for each of the twelve films featured throughout the ride in the order in which they appear in the attraction. You can join the conversation by using #GreatMovieMarathon and we will be replying/retweeting occasionally. We want this to be a community event for the attraction’s biggest fans, so feel free to share with your friends and family in the Disney community. And be sure to follow @Laughing_Place to join in the fun!

Viewing Schedule

Saturday, August 12th

  • 9:00 am ET/6:00 am PT: Footlight Parade
  • 10:50 am ET/7:50 am PT: Singin’ in the Rain
  • 12:45 am ET/9:45 am PT: Mary Poppins
  • 3:15 pm ET/12:15 pm PT: The Public Enemy
  • 4:45 pm ET/1:45 pm PT: A Fistful of Dollars
  • 6:30 pm ET/3:30 pm PT: The Searchers

Sunday, August 13th

  • 9:00 am ET/6:00 am PT: Alien
  • 11:15 am ET/8:15 am PT: Raiders of the Lost Ark
  • 1:15 pm ET/10:15 am PT: Tarzan the Ape Man
  • 3:00 pm ET/12:00 pm PT: Casablanca
  • 4:50 pm ET/1:50 pm PT: Fantasia
  • 7:00 pm ET/4:00 pm PT: The Wizard of Oz

You are invited to join us for any part of the marathon that your schedule allows. While we’ve all seen the highlighted clips, scenes, and vignettes from each film countless times aboard the attraction, this is the first time many of us have experienced the original films that inspired the Imagineers when the attraction first opened in 1989.

Ways to Watch

Almost all of the films are currently available on DVD, Blu-Ray, or digitally. The only film currently “In the Vault” is Fantasia, which is available on Netflix. Below are links to these films on Amazon, iTunes, plus Netflix and Hulu when available. Digital rental and purchase prices vary by retailer. Disclaimer: Some of these films feature content not suitable for children. Viewer discretion is advised on films with an asterisk.

Footlight Parade: Disc from Amazon / Amazon Digital / iTunes

Singin’ in the Rain: Disc from Amazon / Amazon Digital / iTunes

Mary Poppins: Disc from Amazon / Amazon Digital / iTunes

The Public Enemy: Disc from Amazon / Amazon Digital / iTunes

A Fistful of Dollars*: Disc from Amazon / Amazon Digital (free with Prime) / iTunes / Hulu

The Searchers: Disc from Amazon / Amazon Digital / iTunes

Alien*: Disc from Amazon / Amazon Digital / iTunes

Raiders of the Lost Ark: Disc from Amazon / Amazon Digital / iTunes / Hulu

Tarzan the Ape Man: Disc from Amazon / Amazon Digital / iTunes

Casablanca: Disc from Amazon / Amazon Digital / iTunes

Fantasia: Retired Disc from Amazon / Netflix

The Wizard of Oz: Disc from Amazon / Amazon Digital / iTunes


You’ve got your FastPass+ and a front row seat to experience The Great Movie Ride one last time and like never before. So grab some popcorn, we’ll see you at the movies!

 
 

Comments

Send this to a friend