Disney has announced the categories they’re asking for Black Panther to be considered for in next year’s Academy Awards, and it’s a long list.

  • The list of nomination requests for Black Panther includes:
    • Best Picture
    • Best Director
      • Ryan Coogler
    • Best Adapted Screenplay
      • Ryan Coogler & Joe Robert Cole
    • Best Actor
      • Chadwick Boseman
    • Best Supporting Actor
      • Michael B. Jordan
      • Martin Freeman
      • Daniel Kaluuya
      • Winston Duke
      • Sterling K. Brown
      • Forest Whitaker
      • Andy Serkis
    • Best Supporting Actress
      • Lupita Nyong’o
      • Danai Gurira
      • Letitia Wright
      • Angela Bassett
    • Best Cinematography
    • Best Film Editing
    • Best Production Design
    • Best Costume Design
    • Best Makeup & Hairstyling
    • Best Sound Mixing
    • Best Sound Editing
    • Best Visual Effects
    • Best Original Score
    • Best Original Song
      • “All The Stars”

What we know:

  • Black Panther hit theaters on February 16 and earned more than $1.3 billion worldwide, making it the ninth highest grossing film of all time.
  • The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences recently announced the addition of a “Best Popular Film” category to the ceremony, but later announced it would not be included in the 2019 event.
  • Of the cast and crew listed above, only Forest Whitaker (The Last King of Scotland) and Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave) have won Academy Awards for their work prior. Angela Bassett (What’s Love Got to Do with It) and Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out) have both been nominated for awards in the past.


Send this to a friend