Cirque Du Soleil has revealed that their intermission (caused by the global pandemic) has ended and the return of certain shows is imminent, though fans looking forward to the new Drawn to Life coming to Walt Disney World shouldn’t get too excited just yet.

What’s Happening:

  • Cirque Du Soleil has revealed earlier today that their intermission is over, and several of their shows will soon be returning to theaters and arenas.

  • The list of shows returning to theaters and arenas includes O, Mystere, and the Cirque Du Soleil-owned Blue Man Group which have permanent homes in Las Vegas. Kooza, Luzia, Kurios, Corteo, and Crystal are touring shows that are also slated to return. And, with a home in Riviera Maya, Mexico, Joya, is also among the titles coming back.
  • Fans of Cirque Du Soleil and Walt Disney World know that before the world shut down, Cirque Du Soleil and Disney had teamed up for a new production, Drawn to Life, that was set to debut only weeks after Walt Disney World had closed due to the global pandemic.
  • Since then, there has been little news aside from pushed back premiere dates for the new show and eager fans might have been quick to read the list of returning titles in the hopes that Drawn to Life would be among them. Unfortunately, at this time, it isn’t.
  • However, the official Disney Springs Twitter account retweeted Cirque Du Soleil’s returning announcement, and added: “The #CirqueduSoleil sun is rising! Keep an eye out for more information about Drawn to Life by @Cirque and Disney at a later date!”

  • The new show is set to follow the story of Julie, a courageous and determined girl who discovers an unexpected gift left by her late father: an unfinished animation piece. Guided by a surprising pencil, she embarks on an inspiring quest sprinkled with her Disney childhood memories. Through this journey, she learns to imagine new possibilities and animate the story of her future.
  • Drawn to Life was originally set to have its world premiere over a year ago, on April 17, 2020, but no announcement for the debut of the show has been made, aside from this new promise that more info is coming from the official Disney Springs Twitter account.
  • Though it should also be noted, Cirque Du Soleil Chief Executive Daniel Lamarre told The Los Angeles Times “[Drawn to Life] is a tribute to Disney animation, and we felt honored to have the opportunity to do a show with the IP of Disney. We should be able to open sometime in the fall.”
  • Over at the Universal Orlando Resort, the Cirque-owned Blue Man Group show (occupying the former Nickelodeon Studios) had its end of run announced back in February, and will not be returning.

Laughing Place recommends MouseFanTravel.com for all your Walt Disney World travel planning